Philosophy of the World presents Sweet Thing Volume 1! On Sweet Thing Carr runs down our favorite new releases and reissues that have been getting heavy rotation around these parts. Sarah Louise joins us on the show to talk about her bright and shimmering new album, Nighttime Birds and Morning Stars. The rest of the show ranges from polyrhythms and cheap beats from Tanzania’s Jay Mitta, to the nomadic Michael O’Shea and his mesmerizing Mo Chara playing, to the unsettling dark atmospheric masterpiece of Black to Comm. Tune in for some of the freshest cuts from the underground.


1. Ill Considered – “Percolator” from Ill Considered VI

2. Bendik Giske – “High” from Surrender

3. Laurie Spiegel – “Stand of Life (‘Viroid’)” from Unseen Worlds

4. Mac-Talla Nan Creag – “Flight” from The Sorrow of Derdriu

5. Jay Mitta – “Tattoo Pesa” (feat. Doga Janja) from Tatizo Pesa

6. Sarah Louise – “Ancient Technology” from Nighttime Birds and Morning Stars

7. Steve Gunn – “Stonehurst Cowboy” from The Unseen In Between

8. Dolphin Midwives – “Satya Yuga” from Liminal Garden

9. Cucina Povera – “ZOOM0001” from Zoom

10. Gum Takes Tooth – “The Arrow” from Arrow

11. Black to Comm – “Asphodel Mansions” from Seven Horses for Seven Kings

12. G.S. Schray – “Greyfield Envoy” from First Appearance

13. Michael O’Shea – “Guitar No. 1” from Michael O’Shea

14. Zoo – “Hegamila” from Khawagaka


Please contact us to send promotional material for consideration.

Support us on Patreon

Subscribe to the podcast—
iTunesSpotify • GooglePlayStitcherRSS feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

One comment on “Sweet Thing Volume 1

  1. Richter Atmosphere Jun 27, 2019

    Loved the show and would like to hear you do more of these types of shows.

Philosophy of the World © 2017