Ariel Pink (Ariel Rosenberg) is the focus of episode 30 of Philosophy of the World. We explore two decades of his outsider pop ranging from the early, blasted and lo-fi home recordings, to the Haunted Graffiti records that earned him a cult following, and up to present day with his slicker, widely renowned records. We begin with the compiled early recording experiments from Thrash & Burn and the early albums under the moniker Ariel Pink’s Haunted Graffiti that partially inspired hypnogogic pop and chillwave in underground music. Some of these records were eventually reissued on Paw Tracks thanks to Animal Collective, vaulting Ariel Pink into newfound prominence and accolades. Since that time he’s released a consistent string of excellent LPs on 4AD and, earlier this year, on Mexican Summer with Dedicated to Bobby Jameson. Tune in to enjoy decades of music from this controversial weirdo outsider.


1. “I Disguise You” from Thrash & Burn

2. “Tractor Man” from Underground

3. “For Kate I Wait” from The Doldrums

4. “Are You Gonna Look After My Boys” from Scared Famous/FF>>

5. “Interesting Results” from House Arrest

6. “Credit” from Lover Boy

7. “Jules Lost His Jewels” from Worn Copy

8. “Round and Round” from Before Today

9. “Menopause Man” from Before Today

10. “Dutch Me” from Ku Klux Glam

11. “Driftwood” from Mature Themes

12. “Put Your Number in my Phone” from Pom Pom

13. “Jell-o” from Pom Pom

14. “Tears on Fire” from Myths 002 EP

15. “Bubblegum Dreams” from Dedicated to Bobby Jameson

16. “Feels Like Heaven” from Dedicated to Bobby Jameson


Companion Material

Ariel Pink’s Coachella Meltdown

Ariel Pink at Red Bull Music Academy

Ariel Pink’s Lost Media

Ariel’s Rumored, Unreleased Werewolf Movie


Subscribe to the podcast—
iTunesGooglePlayStitcherRSS feed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

2 comments on “Ep. #30 – Ariel Pink

  1. Sam Spiwak Jan 21, 2018

    Impressive! You guys seem to really know your stuff! Fun fact on The Doldrums; Throughout the years the track list and art was revised, the primo OG 2000 copies had hand-sketched art and started with Strange Fires, ending with Envelopes Another Day, while the ’03/’04 copies had art closer to the Paw Trax release and the full 9 glorious tracks. through these years the album went through TONS of revisions!

    • Thanks for checking out the show and for the info on The Doldrums. I had no idea all the changes and revisions it ultimately went through. Thanks again and hope you continue listening – let us know if there is anything you want to hear.

Philosophy of the World © 2017